Old tricks, new challenges!

el

Recently a friend of mine posted on his Facebook wall a note, making us recall that 18 years has passed since our graduation as Computer Engineers. At that moment I realized that I had come of age again! 18 years of graduate Wow!.

And my brain starts to add up. 23 years of professional experience. 27 years of the introductory course. How has the landscape changed in all this time? What I’ve done so many things in my life? Immediately jumps to my mind those days in graphics computer lab, very deep in the cold. Programming in C, those data structures that allow us to develop a pseudo language to make some cartoons on the screen. Daniel and his caffeine pills and Horacio running away. The endless nights on the river, or in the house of the Martinez celebrating any achievement or killing a bad note. Thanks God, there was enough beer.

Even I remembered YeYe too, That great people!. Many of my friends have left the country. Some still stay here. I carry all of them in my heart and in my memories! Everyone walks by their side, taking advantage of his life.

I also remember the last days at college, trying to assemble an information system worked out by all of 75 students, nobody sleeps. Each with a portion of the system. We develop it using? My memory. ¿Clipper? ¿DBase?

The languages ​​used on that times, passed through my hands. Pascal, C, C ++, Clipper, Fortran, DBase, Assembler and 100,000 lines of code to arm the graphic system to teach binary mathematics, Informix 4GL. HTML when pages were ugly. Oracle. There was no Web 2.0. At that time it was cool to work in artificial intelligence, expert systems and fuzzy logic. Much of that work was done.

Today the challenges are a little different, and I have little more than five years working in information security, policies, regulations, compliance, ISO 27000, NIST, ENISA, COBIT, PCI-DSS, ITIL. Developing XML interfaces for SIEM. Java, Python, Ruby, Hadoop and Big Data. The Internet of Things (IoT) and Cloud Computing (IaaS, PaaS, SaaS). Designing rules for Intrusion Detection or looking for ways to secure the Web Services and weekends playing with Metasploit in Kali attacking my own virtual machines or doing some Digital Forensics. Cute scene.

There is still much to learn. While still I have some neurons, I will take the best advantage of them.

Responder

